Update #4: Part 1 of 7 complete

Greetings from a cozy cafe in Stockholm with a snowstorm raging outside. It’s the never-ending winter but I must admit I am kind of enjoying writing here with candle light and coffee.

As promised, here is a draft of the short story I am working on for my creative writing group here in Stockholm. Although I am behind in terms of the overall project, I promised the rest of my team members that I would have a draft complete and sent to them by the end of April.

Although not very writerly or artistic or mythical, I am taking a very administrative approach to my writing process. I Googled the average number of words in a short story and decided on 7,000 words. I am now trying to write about a 1000 words a day. My aim until next weekend is literally to just PUMP SOMETHING OUT no matter how crappy it is. I will edit afterwards.

The reason for this is that I am usually so paralyzed by anxiety and worrying about having something perfect the first time around that I end up just avoiding the whole creative process altogether and procrastinate.

So, in line with this blog and trying to change my processes that clearly do not work, I am just writing things as they come to me.

If you are interested in reading my current draft you can click here. Obvious disclaimer: it is in VERY ROUGH DRAFT FORM.

Happy Sunday!

xo

Zany

1 thought on “Update #4: Part 1 of 7 complete”

  1. <3!! Congratulations on committing to just pumping it out! I read the draft and I think it's great – why you putting disclaimers on it?!? Anyway I think this is a really good start and I can't wait to see the rest of the story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

